June 14, 2024

Doors Open at 6:45 PM EST

Meridian Arts Centre
5040 Yonge St
North York, Ontario M2N 6R8

Our Executive Director

The Toronto Community Benefits Network proudly presents the Canadian Building Diversity Awards Gala on June 14, 2024. Thanks to Desjardins, the Gala is now positioned as the premier event recognizing leadership in creating diversity in the construction industry.

We are expanding the scope of the BDA to a national awards program, while marking the milestone of TCBN's 10th anniversary. This year we aim to double our impact, supporting diversity programs making a difference in local communities, such as TCBN's NexGen Builders program.

Rosemarie Powell
Toronto Community Benefits Network
Executive Director

Building a sustainable future

The Toronto Community Benefits Network (TCBN), a pioneering 120-member coalition founded in 2013, unites trade unions, training centers, workforce agencies, grassroots groups, and community organizations. TCBN champions Community Benefits Agreements (CBAs), ensuring community access to jobs from public infrastructure projects and fulfilling hiring targets for diverse groups.

TCBN's Canadian Building Diversity Awards annually celebrate diversity, equity, inclusion, and reconciliation within the construction industry. With a network spanning over 120 organizations across the Greater Toronto Area and engaging 20,000+ supporters nationwide, TCBN significantly contributes to job creation and community empowerment. The Building Diversity Awards also serve as a vital fundraiser for initiatives like NexGen Builders, instrumental in generating thousands of quality construction jobs.

Past Speakers

Ismaila Alfa
Morning Metro (CBC)
Chris Campbell
Toronto Community Benefits Network
Majora Carter
Majora Carter Group
Sebastian Clovis
Gut Job (HGTV)
Ehren Cory
Chief Executive Officer
Canada Infrastructure Bank
Doug Ford
Premier of Ontario
Marilyn Horrick
Senior Vice President
Desjardins Group
Ahmed Hussen
Minister of Families, Children and Social Development of Canada
Patricia Jaggernauth
Emmy® Award Winner • Speaker • Influencer
Catherine McKenna
Minister of Infrastructure and Communities of Canada
Deryl McKissack
President, CEO
McKissack & McKissack
C. David Moody, Jr.
Chief Executive Officer
C.D. Moody Construction Company, Inc.
Geoffrey Smith
Chief Executive Officer
EllisDon Corporation
John Tory
Former Toronto Mayor
Start of DEI Education Series
APR 30
Nominations Close
MAY 13
Desjardins Presents: 2024 BDA Honourees
JUN 14
2024 Canadian Building Diversity Awards

Help us find talent.

We've made nominating an individual or organization for an award easy. Create a free nominator account, select the award category you wish to nominate them for and fill the corresponding nomination form.

This is a two-step process. The nominator completes the nomination form, here. The nominee will be notified and asked to complete the BuildForce Canada Respectful Workplace Online Assessment Tool. This tool enables the nominator to identify what their organization is presently doing to create and support a respectful, and inclusive workplace.

To proceed, you must be logged in.

Forgot password?